[103-newcomers] IETF 103 Newcomers' Information

Alexa Morris <amorris@amsl.com> Fri, 19 October 2018 21:26 UTC

Return-Path: <amorris@amsl.com>
X-Original-To: 103-newcomers@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: 103-newcomers@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 112E5130DF4 for <103-newcomers@ietfa.amsl.com>; Fri, 19 Oct 2018 14:26:04 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -4.199
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-4.199 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_MED=-2.3, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id f-TdL8OLZeX4 for <103-newcomers@ietfa.amsl.com>; Fri, 19 Oct 2018 14:26:01 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail.amsl.com (c8a.amsl.com [4.31.198.40]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher AECDH-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 953DD130DEA for <103-newcomers@ietf.org>; Fri, 19 Oct 2018 14:26:01 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by c8a.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 4E5F01D06DD for <103-newcomers@ietf.org>; Fri, 19 Oct 2018 14:25:24 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
Received: from c8a.amsl.com ([127.0.0.1]) by localhost (c8a.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id a-OB11JuK7Pj for <103-newcomers@ietf.org>; Fri, 19 Oct 2018 14:25:24 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [IPv6:2601:647:4200:a088:cdac:4c12:4d95:49b9] (unknown [IPv6:2601:647:4200:a088:cdac:4c12:4d95:49b9]) by c8a.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 1BB5C1CADD4 for <103-newcomers@ietf.org>; Fri, 19 Oct 2018 14:25:24 -0700 (PDT)
From: Alexa Morris <amorris@amsl.com>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="Apple-Mail=_E9315023-3CCE-426B-BA55-D36D6D10CA0A"
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 11.5 \(3445.9.1\))
Message-Id: <4FC7D172-98AB-467C-B90B-C9DBDA03FE37@amsl.com>
Date: Fri, 19 Oct 2018 14:26:00 -0700
To: 103-newcomers@ietf.org
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.9.1)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/103-newcomers/XSh9jqRILQcAiI4qOo3SUH8PaJA>
Subject: [103-newcomers] IETF 103 Newcomers' Information
X-BeenThere: 103-newcomers@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: "Mailing list of newcomers \(defined as anyone who has attended 5 or fewer meetings\) at the IETF 103 that opt to be on list." <103-newcomers.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/103-newcomers>, <mailto:103-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/103-newcomers/>
List-Post: <mailto:103-newcomers@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:103-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/103-newcomers>, <mailto:103-newcomers-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Fri, 19 Oct 2018 21:26:04 -0000

We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Bangkok for IETF 103!

You are receiving this email because you indicated during registration that you’ve attended fewer than five IETF meetings.  As a relative newcomer (and perhaps even first-time attendee) we want to make sure that you are aware of the various resources we’ve developed to get you up to speed. All of this information can also be found on the 103 newcomers’ page <https://www7.ietf.org/how/meetings/103/newcomers/>;. 

1. Before the Meeting:

a. Attend a Webinar: There are two options to participate in the IETF Newcomer’s Webinar 

- Wednesday 24 October @ 1500 UTC (8AM PDT, 11 AM EDT, 5 PM CEST, 10 PM Bangkok, midnight Tokyo)
- Friday 26 October @ 1200 UTC (5 AM PDT, 8 AM EDT, 2 PM CEST, 7 PM Bangkok, 9 PM Tokyo)

During this session we will provide a brief overview of how to prepare for the IETF 103 meeting week.  More importantly, we will give you the opportunity to ask any of the questions you may have. Join the webinar here <https://ietf103.conf.meetecho.com/index.php/Newcomers_Webinar>;.

b. Read Ahead:  If you’ve not done so yet, please take a few minutes to watch the excellent “Top 10 Things to Know Before Your First IETF Meeting” video embedded on this page <https://ietf.org/about/participate/get-started/meetings/>;, under Attending a Meeting.  We also strongly encourage you to review The Tao of the IETF <https://www.ietf.org/tao.html>;. 

c. Find a Guide for the meeting: Would you like the opportunity have a seasoned IETF attendee introduce you to the ways of an IETF meeting? The IETF Guides Program matches experienced IETF participants with newcomers in order to aid their integration into the IETF community. You can find more information here <https://www.ietf.org/about/participate/guides/>;. 

Additional Resources: Additional IETF 103 resources for newcomers are available here <https://ietf.org/how/meetings/103/newcomers/>;. 

2. During the Meeting
Below are highlights of the newcomer-specific events during the IETF 103 meeting week.

a.  Events on Sunday, November 4
- A Newcomers Overview is from 12:30-13:30 in the Meeting 1 of the Bangkok Marriott Marquis Queen's Park. If you are unable to attend on Sunday, you can access an online version <https://ietf.org/about/participate/tutorials/newcomers>;.

- The IETF Quick Connections is from in 15:00-16:00 in the Garden at the Queen’s Park. NOTE: Pre-registration is required and space is extremely limited. Newcomer's Quick Connections is a simple and effective way for you to be introduced to a variety of experienced IETF attendees — often working group (WG) chairs — who can help you get more involved in your areas of interest. We will send a separate email with a link to register for the Quick Connections session, so look for that soon. 

- A Newcomer’s Meet-and-Greet with WG chairs and other IETF leaders is from 16:00-17:00 in the Garden at the Queen’s Park.  Only newcomers and IETF leadership are invited to this informal and laid-back gathering; there will be no speeches or presentations. Beer, wine, soda, and light appetizers will be provided. This special reception provides a valuable opportunity to mingle with WG chairs, mentors and other leaders before the meeting week gets started.  If you are hoping to speak with a particular WG chair, you may want to check out our photo directory <https://datatracker.ietf.org/wg/photos>;. The Meet-and-Greet will end promptly at 17:00.  At that time, you are encouraged to remain in the Garden at the Queen’s Park for the official IETF 103  Welcome Reception. This reception is open to the entire community, and it’s considered by many to be the informal kick-off of the week’s meeting. 

b. Events on Monday, November 5
- An informal Newcomer’s dinner is organized by the IETF Secretariat onsite at the Marriott. The buffet dinner costs $25 and it’s a great opportunity to get to know some of your peers. If you are interested in joining, please rsvp to registrar@ietf.org <mailto:registrar@ietf.org>. 

c. Events on Thursday, November 8
- A Newcomer’s Feedback Session is from 08:00 - 09:00 in Pagoda and a hot breakfast will be served. We are always eager to get feedback on the effectiveness of our newcomer related activities. What do you wish you’d known before you arrived? Which programs or activities were especially helpful and which programs or activities need to be revised? We’d like to hear from you, so please plan to attend.

Finally, for general logistical information (e.g. how to get from the airport to your hotel) please check out our meeting wiki <https://trac.ietf.org/trac/ietf/meeting/wiki/ietf103>;. If you have information to share, please create an account and contribute. 

Safe Travels,

Alexa Morris
IETF Managing Director