[recipe] Smart Grid Bar BOF on Wednesday night at IETF 76 (Was: Doodle poll: Smart Grid Bar Bof at IETF 76)

"Polk, William T." <william.polk@NIST.GOV> Wed, 14 October 2009 13:46 UTC

Return-Path: <william.polk@NIST.GOV>
X-Original-To: recipe@core3.amsl.com
Delivered-To: recipe@core3.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by core3.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 2C7C428C104; Wed, 14 Oct 2009 06:46:00 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -6.18
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-6.18 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[AWL=0.418, BAYES_00=-2.599, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_MED=-4]
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([64.170.98.32]) by localhost (core3.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id UHSSR+evYx4m; Wed, 14 Oct 2009 06:46:00 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from smtp.nist.gov (rimp2.nist.gov [129.6.16.227]) by core3.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9B4493A691B; Wed, 14 Oct 2009 06:45:59 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from WSXGHUB1.xchange.nist.gov (wsxghub1.nist.gov [129.6.18.96]) by smtp.nist.gov (8.13.1/8.13.1) with ESMTP id n9EDjIDE021943; Wed, 14 Oct 2009 09:45:18 -0400
Received: from MBCLUSTER.xchange.nist.gov ([fe80::d479:3188:aec0:cb66]) by WSXGHUB1.xchange.nist.gov ([2002:8106:1260::8106:1260]) with mapi; Wed, 14 Oct 2009 09:45:18 -0400
From: "Polk, William T." <william.polk@NIST.GOV>
To: Fred Baker <fred@cisco.com>, David R Oran <oran@cisco.com>, Richard Shockey <richard@shockey.us>, Russ Housley <housley@vigilsec.com>, Leslie Daigle <daigle@isoc.org>, Sean Turner <turners@ieca.com>, Paul Hoffman <paul.hoffman@vpnc.org>, Henning Schulzrinne <hgs@cs.columbia.edu>, Phil Roberts <roberts@isoc.org>, "peter@peter-dambier.de" <peter@peter-dambier.de>, "dcrocker@bbiw.net" <dcrocker@bbiw.net>, Hiroshi Esaki <hiroshi@wide.ad.jp>, Michael Dillon <wavetossed@googlemail.com>, Brian E Carpenter <brian.e.carpenter@gmail.com>, Ralph Droms <rdroms@cisco.com>, Michael Dillon <wavetossed@googlemail.com>, IESG IESG <iesg@ietf.org>, IAB IAB <iab@iab.org>, "recipe@ietf.org" <recipe@ietf.org>, Peny Yang <peng.yang.chn@gmail.com>, "roll@ietf.org" <roll@ietf.org>
Date: Wed, 14 Oct 2009 09:45:09 -0400
Thread-Topic: Smart Grid Bar BOF on Wednesday night at IETF 76 (Was: Doodle poll: Smart Grid Bar Bof at IETF 76)
Thread-Index: AcpLpuV4ql1sjkWx30upn1dIGdyKowBLaX+k
Message-ID: <C6FB4E25.17275%tim.polk@nist.gov>
In-Reply-To: <C6F95410.170D9%tim.polk@nist.gov>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en
X-MS-Has-Attach:
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:
acceptlanguage: en-US
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="_000_C6FB4E2517275timpolknistgov_"
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-NIST-MailScanner: Found to be clean
X-NIST-MailScanner-From: william.polk@nist.gov
X-Mailman-Approved-At: Wed, 14 Oct 2009 18:13:35 -0700
Cc: "St. Pierre, James A." <james.st.pierre@NIST.GOV>, "Dodson, Donna F." <donna.dodson@NIST.GOV>, "Su, David H." <david.su@NIST.GOV>, "Golmie, Nada T." <nada.golmie@NIST.GOV>
Subject: [recipe] Smart Grid Bar BOF on Wednesday night at IETF 76 (Was: Doodle poll: Smart Grid Bar Bof at IETF 76)
X-BeenThere: recipe@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.9
Precedence: list
List-Id: "RECIPE \(Reducing Energy Consumption with Internet Protocols Exploration\)" <recipe.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/recipe>, <mailto:recipe-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/recipe>
List-Post: <mailto:recipe@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:recipe-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/recipe>, <mailto:recipe-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Wed, 14 Oct 2009 13:46:00 -0000

The Bar BOF to discuss US Smart Grid effort will be held Wednesday night.  I was really excited to see the level of interest, and everyone that has responded to date can attend on Wednesday night.  Since the better date was clear, I wanted to announce the result ASAP rather than ask folks to hold two dates on their personal schedules any longer.

I will revise the poll so that only Wednesday night is an option, but would greatly appreciate it if people would continue to register interest so I can reserve an appropriate room.  I intend to follow up with logistics the week before IETF.

Thanks,

Tim Polk


On 10/12/09 9:45 PM, "Polk, Tim" <tim.polk@nist.gov>; wrote:


Folks,

I would like to organize a BAR BOF at IETF 76 in Hiroshima to discuss the US Smart Grid effort.  IETF protocols will be an important component of a successful and evolutionary Smart Grid, and NIST is looking to the IETF for leadership. To enable participation by NIST/ITL Management, I would like to hold the BAR BOF either Wednesday or Thursday night.

NIST attendees will provide some background/history of the Smart Grid efforts but the primary goal of this session is to determine whether there is sufficient interest in the community to take on work in this area. If there is interest, scoping of appropriate IETF contributions, and strategies for organizing the response would also be fruitful topic areas.

I am sending this email directly to any IETFers that have (to my knowledge) previously indicated interest in Smart Grid.  I am also sending this message to the IESG, IAB, recipe@ietf.org, and ipaction@nist.gov email lists.  Please feel free to forward this email to anyone else that you think I may have missed.

If you are interested in attending the BOF, please indicate your preference using the following doodle poll:

      http://www.doodle.com/q5nusbhpqfnf75yh

Thanks,

Tim Polk