[Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1160167] Re: Request to register ALPN ID for DNS-over-TLS (tls-extensiontype-values)

"Sabrina Tanamal via RT" <iana-prot-param@iana.org> Wed, 15 January 2020 18:59 UTC

Return-Path: <iana-shared@icann.org>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id F226412090A for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 15 Jan 2020 10:59:39 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.93
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.93 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, HEADER_FROM_DIFFERENT_DOMAINS=0.249, MISSING_HEADERS=1.021, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_MED=-2.3, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id RQsfRtySWLAi for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Wed, 15 Jan 2020 10:59:35 -0800 (PST)
Received: from smtp01.icann.org (smtp01.icann.org [192.0.33.81]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id C21A11208D4 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Wed, 15 Jan 2020 10:59:35 -0800 (PST)
Received: from request4.lax.icann.org (request1.lax.icann.org [10.32.11.221]) by smtp01.icann.org (Postfix) with ESMTP id C23FCE1514; Wed, 15 Jan 2020 18:59:34 +0000 (UTC)
Received: by request4.lax.icann.org (Postfix, from userid 48) id BC8E42045E; Wed, 15 Jan 2020 18:59:34 +0000 (UTC)
RT-Owner: sabrina.tanamal
From: "Sabrina Tanamal via RT" <iana-prot-param@iana.org>
Reply-To: iana-prot-param@iana.org
In-Reply-To: <06021473-5777-439D-B9C6-7AFA2377713A@gmail.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1160167@icann.org> <E83467EF-A186-4ED9-8299-B3A1630B793F@akamai.com> <AE40BB7D-4EDC-4D66-91B8-3D4E4AF4DF57@gmail.com> <CAFDDyk-JvH0vjZk=UNYKWvWaVc4kJcp03w7syyD7mOybSR6gNw@mail.gmail.com> <AD8E9FBE-0617-433C-B4F7-ECBC413523F8@akamai.com> <06021473-5777-439D-B9C6-7AFA2377713A@gmail.com>
Message-ID: <rt-4.4.3-32672-1579114774-1575.1160167-37-0@icann.org>
X-RT-Loop-Prevention: IANA
X-RT-Ticket: IANA #1160167
X-Managed-BY: RT 4.4.3 (http://www.bestpractical.com/rt/)
X-RT-Originator: sabrina.tanamal@icann.org
CC: jreed@akamai.com, tls-reg-review@ietf.org
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
X-RT-Original-Encoding: utf-8
Precedence: bulk
Date: Wed, 15 Jan 2020 18:59:34 +0000
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/B7_xcCwZNAAB7amesfO4Nf5hSh4>
Subject: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1160167] Re: Request to register ALPN ID for DNS-over-TLS (tls-extensiontype-values)
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Wed, 15 Jan 2020 18:59:40 -0000

Hi Jon, 

How should we fill in the "Reference" field for DNS-over-TLS? 

Thanks,

Sabrina Tanamal
Senior IANA Services Specialist

On Tue Jan 14 18:36:49 2020, ynir.ietf@gmail.com wrote:
> Sorry, I missed that IANA was not on this thread.
> 
> IANA: since I and Nick approve, we can proceed with this.
> 
> Yoav
> 
> > On 14 Jan 2020, at 20:10, Reed, Jon <jreed@akamai.com>; wrote:
> >
> > Hi folks,
> >
> > Just following up on this, since I think the 3 week review period has
> > expired.   Can we move forward with publishing this registration, or
> > is there some periodic publication cycle?
> >
> > Thanks,
> >
> > Jon
> >
> >> On Dec 16, 2019, at 2:26 PM, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com
> >> <mailto:nick@cloudflare.com>> wrote:
> >>
> >> Fine with me.
> >>
> >> On Mon, Dec 16, 2019 at 9:16 AM Yoav Nir <ynir.ietf@gmail.com
> >> <mailto:ynir.ietf@gmail.com>> wrote:
> >> I think it’s fine.  Nick?
> >>
> >>> On 16 Dec 2019, at 17:52, Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com
> >>> <mailto:rsalz@akamai.com>> wrote:
> >>>
> >>> Yoav and Nick,
> >>>
> >>> Could you guys approve this?  Since it came from Akamai, I want to
> >>> abstain.
> >>>
> >>> From: "Reed, Jon" <jreed@akamai.com <mailto:jreed@akamai.com>>
> >>> Date: Monday, December 16, 2019 at 7:56 AM
> >>> To: "tls-reg-review@ietf.org <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>"
> >>> <tls-reg-review@ietf.org <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>>
> >>> Subject: [Tls-reg-review] Request to register ALPN ID for DNS-over-
> >>> TLS
> >>>
> >>> Hi,
> >>>
> >>> I'd like to request registration of an ALPN ID for DNS-over-TLS
> >>> (RFC 7858).   The ID will be used, by prior out-of-band mutual
> >>> agreement, in cases where DNS-over-TLS is used over a non-standard-
> >>> part (e.g. 443).    The identification sequence will be: 0x64 0x6F
> >>> 0x74 ("dot").
> >>>
> >>> Rich Salz suggested I survey the dprive working group before doing
> >>> this, and I have done so[1].  There appears to be support for this,
> >>> including from one of the authors of RFC 7858, provided it's used
> >>> by prior agreement on non-standard ports, and not required as part
> >>> of normal use on port 853.
> >>>
> >>> Please let me know if you have more questions or need more
> >>> information.
> >>>
> >>> Thanks,
> >>>
> >>> Jon
> >>>
> >>> [1] https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/dns-
> >>> privacy/iZ2rDIhFB2ZWsGC3PcdBVLGa8Do
> >>> <https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-
> >>> 3A__mailarchive.ietf.org_arch_msg_dns-
> >>> 2Dprivacy_iZ2rDIhFB2ZWsGC3PcdBVLGa8Do&d=DwMFaQ&c=96ZbZZcaMF4w0F4jpN6LZg&r=_xTHEvws93UZ7jl9jhO7Pg&m=i070mdRi8IojDr3bkm87Qo7LqaTJVtz-
> >>> 8A6t_AJuNj0&s=xt3xOwMGNirCRCDokBxZVoL0ybgcuYq6giiuUtVOp7w&e=>
> >>>
> >>> --
> >>> Jon Reed
> >>> jreed@akamai.com <mailto:jreed@akamai.com>
> >>> Nameservers Service Performance
> >>> Akamai Technologies
> >>
> >