IETF 109 schedule update

IETF Chair <chair@ietf.org> Fri, 04 September 2020 21:11 UTC

Return-Path: <chair@ietf.org>
X-Original-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 221783A1072; Fri, 4 Sep 2020 14:11:46 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.899
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.899 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id YP__KPqxPsAM; Fri, 4 Sep 2020 14:11:45 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from rtp-alcoop-nitro2.cisco.com (unknown [173.38.117.86]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id B044F3A1071; Fri, 4 Sep 2020 14:11:44 -0700 (PDT)
From: IETF Chair <chair@ietf.org>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 13.4 \(3608.120.23.2.1\))
Subject: IETF 109 schedule update
Message-Id: <B3DCDB8A-1476-49D7-834D-69D980915B96@ietf.org>
Date: Fri, 4 Sep 2020 17:11:27 -0400
To: IETF-Announce <ietf-announce@ietf.org>, irtf-announce@irtf.org, ietf <ietf@ietf.org>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3608.120.23.2.1)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/ietf-announce/87UYVTTrxUNzTKDzpfhKZq3NYyk>
X-BeenThere: ietf-announce@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <ietf-announce.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/ietf-announce/>
List-Post: <mailto:ietf-announce@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Fri, 04 Sep 2020 21:11:46 -0000

As previously announced, IETF 109 will be an online meeting [1]. IETF 109 working sessions will take place 16-20 November, from 05:00 to 11:00 UTC each day [2]. This time block was chosen to schedule the meeting during the normal business hours of Bangkok, the original meeting location, and thus be consistent with the intent of guidance in Section 2 of RFC 8719 related to meeting rotation. IETF 107 and IETF 108 similarly started in the early afternoon local time in the original meeting locations.

In response to experience from IETF 108 and the feedback received after the meeting, several changes have been made:

- Working group (WG) session lengths are increased to 60 minutes and 120 minutes. 
- Breaks are lengthened to 30 minutes.
- Start time is now 12:00 in the original local meeting location timezone to accommodate the resulting lengthened daily schedule.

Session requests are set to open on 8 September and registration is scheduled to open the week of 28 September. Details about other important dates for IETF 109 are available at <https://datatracker.ietf.org/meeting/important-dates/>.

The Hackathon will take place the week prior, 9-13 November, and we will share more details about it (and other meeting-related events) as they become available.

Sincerely,
Alissa Cooper, IETF Chair
Colin Perkins, IRTF Chair


[1] https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/ietf-announce/_Ob6SBhViwx13nps9KV-aF_CFyM/ 

[2] For selected time zones, this translates to:

21:00 - 03:00 PST (UTC -8)
00:00 - 06:00 EST (UTC -5)
06:00 - 12:00 CET (UTC +1)
10:30 - 16:00 IST (UTC +5:30)
12:00 - 18:00 ICT  (UTC +7)
13:00 - 19:00 CST (UTC +8)
16:00 - 22:00 AEDT (UTC +11)