Nominations sought: Jonathan B. Postel Service Award 2017

IETF Administrative Director <> Thu, 30 March 2017 12:34 UTC

Return-Path: <>
Received: from (localhost [IPv6:::1]) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id 7C51512954A; Thu, 30 Mar 2017 05:34:09 -0700 (PDT)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
From: IETF Administrative Director <>
To: IETF Announcement List <>
Subject: Nominations sought: Jonathan B. Postel Service Award 2017
X-Test-IDTracker: no
X-IETF-IDTracker: 6.49.0
Auto-Submitted: auto-generated
Precedence: bulk
Message-ID: <>
Date: Thu, 30 Mar 2017 05:34:09 -0700
Archived-At: <>
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.22
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <>
List-Unsubscribe: <>, <>
List-Archive: <>
List-Post: <>
List-Help: <>
List-Subscribe: <>, <>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 30 Mar 2017 12:34:10 -0000

Greetings on behalf of the Internet Society,

We are pleased to announce that candidate nominations for the 2017
Jonathan B. Postel Service Award are now open.

This prestigious annual award is presented to an individual or
organization that has made outstanding contributions in service to
the data communications community.

The signature crystal globe and a USD 20,000 prize will be presented
at the 99th Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) meeting in
Prague, Czech Republic (16 -21 July 2017) to the chosen candidate.

Nominations are encouraged for individuals or teams of individuals
from across the data communications industry around the world,
either by self-nomination or by third party.

Please submit your nominations using this web form and do not
hesitate to share this information with your networks:

The deadline for nominations is 3 May 2017.

More About the Award

The Jonathan B. Postel Service Award was established by the Internet
Society to honor a person who has made outstanding contributions in
service to the data communications community.

The award is focused on sustained and substantial technical
contributions, service to the community, and leadership. With
respect to leadership, the award committee places particular
emphasis on candidates who have supported and enabled others in
addition to their own specific actions.

The award is named for Dr. Jonathan B. Postel to recognize and
commemorate the extraordinary stewardship exercised by Jon Postel
over the course of a thirty-year career in networking.

Jon Postel served as the editor of the RFC series of notes from its
inception in 1969 until 1998. He also served as the ARPANET “numbers
Czar” and Internet Assigned Numbers Authority over the same period
of time. He was a founding member of the Internet Architecture (nee
Activities) Board and the first individual member of the Internet
Society, which he also served as a Trustee.

Find out more on the award, nomination procedures, and online
submission forms:

Nominate someone here:

For any questions please contact

Best Regards,

The Internet Society Team