2015-2016 IETF NomCom Chair Announcement

Kathy Brown <brown@isoc.org> Mon, 19 January 2015 15:47 UTC

Return-Path: <brown@isoc.org>
X-Original-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: ietf-announce@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 6D7021B2AAE; Mon, 19 Jan 2015 07:47:04 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.901
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.901 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_NONE=-0.0001, SPF_HELO_PASS=-0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001] autolearn=ham
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id nUssukA70Zlc; Mon, 19 Jan 2015 07:47:01 -0800 (PST)
Received: from na01-by2-obe.outbound.protection.outlook.com (mail-by2on0089.outbound.protection.outlook.com []) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 664991AD10A; Mon, 19 Jan 2015 07:47:01 -0800 (PST)
Received: from BY1PR0601MB1160.namprd06.prod.outlook.com ( by BY1PR0601MB1157.namprd06.prod.outlook.com ( with Microsoft SMTP Server (TLS) id; Mon, 19 Jan 2015 15:46:59 +0000
Received: from BY1PR0601MB1160.namprd06.prod.outlook.com ([]) by BY1PR0601MB1160.namprd06.prod.outlook.com ([]) with mapi id 15.01.0059.007; Mon, 19 Jan 2015 15:46:59 +0000
From: Kathy Brown <brown@isoc.org>
To: "ietf-announce@ietf.org" <ietf-announce@ietf.org>
Subject: 2015-2016 IETF NomCom Chair Announcement
Thread-Topic: 2015-2016 IETF NomCom Chair Announcement
Thread-Index: AQHQM/8oQ8mG0iAjOECX4AN5HjFQjg==
Date: Mon, 19 Jan 2015 15:46:58 +0000
Message-ID: <D0E2911C.12882%brown@isoc.org>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
x-originating-ip: []
authentication-results: spf=none (sender IP is ) smtp.mailfrom=brown@isoc.org;
x-dmarcaction-test: None
x-microsoft-antispam: BCL:0;PCL:0;RULEID:(3005004);SRVR:BY1PR0601MB1157;
x-exchange-antispam-report-test: UriScan:;
x-exchange-antispam-report-cfa-test: BCL:0; PCL:0; RULEID:; SRVR:BY1PR0601MB1157;
x-forefront-prvs: 046164D5C4
x-forefront-antispam-report: SFV:NSPM; SFS:(10009020)(189002)(43784003)(199003)(86362001)(54356999)(19617315012)(2351001)(50986999)(64706001)(101416001)(66066001)(110136001)(46102003)(19625215002)(15395725005)(105586002)(77156002)(122556002)(16236675004)(15187005004)(99286002)(36756003)(102836002)(229853001)(106116001)(87936001)(62966003)(15975445007)(2656002)(2900100001)(92566002)(19580405001)(19580395003)(40100003)(106356001)(559001)(579004); DIR:OUT; SFP:1101; SCL:1; SRVR:BY1PR0601MB1157; H:BY1PR0601MB1160.namprd06.prod.outlook.com; FPR:; SPF:None; MLV:sfv; PTR:InfoNoRecords; MX:1; A:1; LANG:en;
received-spf: None (protection.outlook.com: isoc.org does not designate permitted sender hosts)
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="_000_D0E2911C12882brownisocorg_"
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-OriginatorOrg: isoc.org
X-MS-Exchange-CrossTenant-originalarrivaltime: 19 Jan 2015 15:46:58.7393 (UTC)
X-MS-Exchange-CrossTenant-fromentityheader: Hosted
X-MS-Exchange-CrossTenant-id: 89f84dfb-7285-4810-bc4d-8b9b5794554f
X-MS-Exchange-Transport-CrossTenantHeadersStamped: BY1PR0601MB1157
Archived-At: <http://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/ietf-announce/kYkG4CVXVoPaYApcerqBuydlRVA>
Cc: "wgchairs@ietf.org" <wgchairs@ietf.org>, "iab@ietf.org" <iab@ietf.org>, "iaoc@ietf.org" <iaoc@ietf.org>, "irsg@irtf.org" <irsg@irtf.org>, "ietf@iab.org" <ietf@iab.org>, "iesg@ietf.org" <iesg@ietf.org>
X-BeenThere: ietf-announce@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.15
Precedence: list
Reply-To: ietf@ietf.org
List-Id: "IETF announcement list. No discussions." <ietf-announce.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/ietf-announce/>
List-Post: <mailto:ietf-announce@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/ietf-announce>, <mailto:ietf-announce-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Mon, 19 Jan 2015 15:47:04 -0000

To the IETF Community,

One of the roles of the Internet Society (ISOC) President is to appoint the IETF Nominations Committee chair. This is done through consultation with members of the IETF community, as well as input from past IETF NomCom Chairs. It gives me great pleasure to announce that Harald Alvestrand has agreed to serve as the 2015 - 2016 IETF Nominations Committee chair.

Harald is a former Chair of the IETF from 2001 - 2006. He has been active in Internet standardization with the IETF<http://icannwiki.com/IETF> since 1991, and has written a number of RFCs, including RFC 1766<https://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc1766.txt>, the first standard for language tags in Internet protocols.  Mr. Alvestrand's commitment to the Internet standardization processes also includes being Director of the Applications area from 1995 to 1998, the Director of the Operations & Management area from 1998 to 1999, and a member of the Internet Architecture Board<http://icannwiki.com/IAB> from 1999-2001.

The NomCom process is critical to the health and success of the IETF and it's important that it have robust support from the community.   A Call for Nominations for this committee will be sent shortly to the IETF Announcement list; and a list of IESG, IAB and IAOC/IETF Trust seats to be filled will also be published.  Please consider volunteering for the Nominations Committee as well as send candidate recommendations for the open positions to Harald, who will share them with the committee when seated.

Thanks again to everyone for their support and special thanks to Harald for agreeing to take on this important responsibility.  Harald can be reached at harald@alvestrand.no<mailto:harald@alvestrand.no>.

Kathryn C Brown
President & CEO
Internet Society

Kathryn C Brown
President & CEO
Internet Society