Changes to IETF Tools Team

IETF Chair <> Tue, 26 May 2020 14:40 UTC

Return-Path: <>
Received: from localhost (localhost []) by (Postfix) with ESMTP id 997B73A0BE3 for <>; Tue, 26 May 2020 07:40:52 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.898
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.898 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Received: from ([]) by localhost ( []) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id NJyQSMmW1kdW for <>; Tue, 26 May 2020 07:40:50 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from (unknown []) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id D01403A0BB9 for <>; Tue, 26 May 2020 07:40:49 -0700 (PDT)
From: IETF Chair <>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="Apple-Mail=_1003BAE3-7470-40B6-81EE-B8CE8D8D8CB9"
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 11.5 \(3445.9.5\))
Subject: Changes to IETF Tools Team
Message-Id: <>
Date: Tue, 26 May 2020 10:40:46 -0400
To: IETF <>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.9.5)
Archived-At: <>
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: IETF-Discussion <>
List-Unsubscribe: <>, <>
List-Archive: <>
List-Post: <>
List-Help: <>
List-Subscribe: <>, <>
X-List-Received-Date: Tue, 26 May 2020 14:40:53 -0000

In order to have a more streamlined process for implementation and prioritization decisions around the IETF tools suite, we have re-structured the IETF tools team somewhat. For some time now we’ve had feature requests, bug fixes, and bigger picture issues coming into the team from many sources. The previous structure was good for broad coordination but was not well suited to day-to-day decisionmaking.

To achieve more focus on implementation, there is now a small, core part of the team focused on implementation and a broader group that includes the rest of the tools team members and liaisons (what we’re now calling at-large members) who continue to help with coordination and input from their respective roles. The broader group will continue to coordinate on a monthly basis. The implementation group is meeting more frequently and having more intensive interaction.

Robert Sparks is now the chair of the tools team. The implementation group is: Robert Sparks, Henrik Levkowetz, Russ Housley, Glen Barney, Alexey Melnikov, and Roman Danyliw. Roman represents the IESG and his slot may rotate among different IESG members at the IESG’s discretion. The group’s mailing list is <>, which has a public archive <> and allows non-subscribers to post to it.

The list of at-large members and other information about the tools team is available at <>. 

I’d like to express my huge thanks and appreciation to Russ Housley for all his years chairing the tools team, and to everyone on the team for their continued support of this work. 

Alissa Cooper
IETF Chair