[apps-review] breakfast notes

Peter Saint-Andre <stpeter@stpeter.im> Wed, 16 November 2011 04:19 UTC

Return-Path: <stpeter@stpeter.im>
X-Original-To: apps-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: apps-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 6018911E80AA for <apps-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Tue, 15 Nov 2011 20:19:27 -0800 (PST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -102.492
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-102.492 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[AWL=-0.493, BAYES_00=-2.599, J_CHICKENPOX_13=0.6, USER_IN_WHITELIST=-100]
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([12.22.58.30]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id JIGeFBnFIwG5 for <apps-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Tue, 15 Nov 2011 20:19:23 -0800 (PST)
Received: from stpeter.im (mailhost.stpeter.im [207.210.219.225]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 0E04A11E80EC for <apps-review@ietf.org>; Tue, 15 Nov 2011 20:19:20 -0800 (PST)
Received: from dhcp-15ab.meeting.ietf.org (unknown [64.104.46.217]) (Authenticated sender: stpeter) by stpeter.im (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 31A2C4214E for <apps-review@ietf.org>; Tue, 15 Nov 2011 21:25:34 -0700 (MST)
Message-ID: <4EC339C4.1040709@stpeter.im>
Date: Wed, 16 Nov 2011 12:19:16 +0800
From: Peter Saint-Andre <stpeter@stpeter.im>
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; rv:8.0) Gecko/20111105 Thunderbird/8.0
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: "apps-review@ietf.org" <apps-review@ietf.org>
X-Enigmail-Version: 1.3.3
OpenPGP: url=https://stpeter.im/stpeter.asc
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Subject: [apps-review] breakfast notes
X-BeenThere: apps-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.12
Precedence: list
List-Id: Apps Area Review List <apps-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/apps-review>, <mailto:apps-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <http://www.ietf.org/mail-archive/web/apps-review>
List-Post: <mailto:apps-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:apps-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/apps-review>, <mailto:apps-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Wed, 16 Nov 2011 04:19:27 -0000

Here are brief notes from this morning's breakfast meeting of the
apps-review team.

1. We're going to change the name from "Review Team" to "Directorate"
because, among other things, it will be easier for folks to justify
these activities to their manager if they're involved in the
"Applications Area Directorate".

2. I at least would prefer to change the list name to appsdir@ietf.org.

3. We want to encourage early involvement of AppsDir members in work
within other areas (and by extension perhaps also W3C etc.).

4. To help with #3, we want to know who in the AppsDir is watching or
involved with relevant WGs in other areas (e.g., DANE, V6OPS, OAUTH).
This will be added to the directorate page here:

http://www.apps.ietf.org/content/applications-area-review-team

[side note: use http://trac.tools.ietf.org/area/app/trac/wiki instead?
might be easier to get everyone working together at that site]

5. All chairs of WGs in the Apps Area will be added to the appsdir list,
but they might be excused from certain tasks (help other areas, complete
reviews, etc.) because of time constraints. Part of the motivation here
is for the AppsDir to be a team of all the AppsArea leaders.

6. We're looking to recruit more AppsDir members and will ask the WG
chairs to scout around in their working groups for possibilities.

7. We're looking for someone to help SM so he doesn't burn out. Rotating
the "leader" and "secretary" (or whatever the titles are) would be helpful.

8. It would be good to have better tracking of who has completed
reviews, so that we can give credit where credit is due. We might be
able to borrow Gen-ART tools or something else. Suggestion also to use
the tools.ietf.org tracker here:

http://trac.tools.ietf.org/area/app/trac/report

9. We'd like to have a better idea of work happening in other areas that
might benefit from AppsArea input. Discussion is welcome. Possible
approaches might include watching the relevant working groups in other
areas and establishing automated tools to perform keyword searching of
-00 or -01 WG drafts (Peter to ping the tools team). Pete and I will
also ask other ADs about their new work on a regular basis in the the
IESG informal telechats.

If you were at the breakfast meeting, feel free to add or amplify upon
these notes.

Peter

-- 
Peter Saint-Andre
https://stpeter.im/