Re: (sipp) un-numbered links

greg_minshall@novell.com Fri, 05 August 1994 02:22 UTC

Received: from ietf.nri.reston.va.us by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa16107; 4 Aug 94 22:22 EDT
Received: from CNRI.RESTON.VA.US by IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa16103; 4 Aug 94 22:22 EDT
Received: from Sun.COM by CNRI.Reston.VA.US id aa20748; 4 Aug 94 22:22 EDT
Received: from Eng.Sun.COM (zigzag.Eng.Sun.COM) by Sun.COM (sun-barr.Sun.COM) id AA19070; Thu, 4 Aug 94 19:22:42 PDT
Received: from sunroof2.Eng.Sun.COM by Eng.Sun.COM (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA24846; Thu, 4 Aug 94 19:22:55 PDT
Received: by sunroof2.Eng.Sun.COM (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA06294; Thu, 4 Aug 94 19:24:38 PDT
Received: from Eng.Sun.COM (engnews1) by sunroof2.Eng.Sun.COM (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA06287; Thu, 4 Aug 94 19:24:28 PDT
Received: from Sun.COM (sun-barr) by Eng.Sun.COM (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA17890; Thu, 4 Aug 94 19:21:59 PDT
Received: from ns.Novell.COM by Sun.COM (sun-barr.Sun.COM) id AA18930; Thu, 4 Aug 94 19:21:50 PDT
Received: from WC.Novell.COM (optics.wc.novell.com) by ns.Novell.COM (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA19374; Thu, 4 Aug 94 20:21:51 MDT
Received: from by WC.Novell.COM (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AB21115; Thu, 4 Aug 94 19:16:17 PDT
Date: Thu, 4 Aug 94 19:16:17 PDT
Message-Id: <9408050216.AB21115@WC.Novell.COM>
X-Sender: minshall@optics.wc.novell.com
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
To: sipp@sunroof.eng.sun.com
Sender: ietf-archive-request@IETF.CNRI.Reston.VA.US
From: greg_minshall@novell.com
Subject: Re: (sipp) un-numbered links
X-Orig-Sender: owner-sipp@sunroof.eng.sun.com
Precedence: bulk
Reply-To: sipp@sunroof.eng.sun.com

mo,

>so, assign addresses to serial line endpoints if you want to monitor
>them, but don't require them to forward packets across them - they
>aren't needed.  and don't spend any time conjuring them out of thin
>air - i want far more control over them than that.

*You* may want (far) more control over them, but others may not.  Thus, it
may well make sense to have some sort of default scheme (just like for 802
nets), with a nob which allows that scheme to be turned off.

Greg


 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IETF SIPP Working Group - Archives:  parcftp.xerox.com:/pub/sipp
Unsubscribe:	unsubscribe sipp		(as message body, not subject)
Direct all administrative requests to majordomo@sunroof.eng.sun.com