Re: IETF 109 Preliminary Agenda

Carsten Bormann <cabo@tzi.org> Sat, 17 October 2020 00:33 UTC

Return-Path: <cabo@tzi.org>
X-Original-To: wgchairs@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: wgchairs@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 352FE3A0A3A for <wgchairs@ietfa.amsl.com>; Fri, 16 Oct 2020 17:33:54 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.897
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.897 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, RCVD_IN_MSPIKE_H4=0.001, RCVD_IN_MSPIKE_WL=0.001, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id LChM6Noj7sLb for <wgchairs@ietfa.amsl.com>; Fri, 16 Oct 2020 17:33:51 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from gabriel-vm-2.zfn.uni-bremen.de (gabriel-vm-2.zfn.uni-bremen.de [134.102.50.17]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher AECDH-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 45A243A0A2E for <wgchairs@ietf.org>; Fri, 16 Oct 2020 17:33:51 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [192.168.217.118] (p548dcc60.dip0.t-ipconnect.de [84.141.204.96]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384 (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by gabriel-vm-2.zfn.uni-bremen.de (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 4CCkXY33zmzyX6; Sat, 17 Oct 2020 02:33:49 +0200 (CEST)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 13.4 \(3608.120.23.2.4\))
Subject: Re: IETF 109 Preliminary Agenda
From: Carsten Bormann <cabo@tzi.org>
In-Reply-To: <30344.1602894208@localhost>
Date: Sat, 17 Oct 2020 02:33:48 +0200
Cc: Working Group Chairs <wgchairs@ietf.org>
X-Mao-Original-Outgoing-Id: 624587628.748951-69c4c25e7979a88ec37eeeaa19abc3d8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <FD995870-E9C6-4099-93AF-253F0A11F56B@tzi.org>
References: <160288855079.14008.13967692974159638979@ietfa.amsl.com> <30344.1602894208@localhost>
To: Michael Richardson <mcr@sandelman.ca>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3608.120.23.2.4)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/wgchairs/S-OvPAnYC-yoveYpLlKtSgeV7S4>
X-BeenThere: wgchairs@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: Working Group Chairs <wgchairs.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/wgchairs>, <mailto:wgchairs-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/wgchairs/>
List-Post: <mailto:wgchairs@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:wgchairs-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/wgchairs>, <mailto:wgchairs-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Sat, 17 Oct 2020 00:33:54 -0000

On 2020-10-17, at 02:23, Michael Richardson <mcr@sandelman.ca> wrote:
> 
> It appears that session are scheduled starting at 05:00 UTC, which would be
> 12:00(noon) Bangkok time.   It's really as if this meeting was being held in Madrid.

I don’t think you are aware when Spanish people tend to get up :-)

> While I fully expected to time-shift by 12 hours (Bangkok+7, EST-5), this
> isn't quite that.
> I'm not sure I understand how we are respecting 1-1-1-* time zones here.

Alissa announced this ~ six weeks ago:
<https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/ietf-announce/87UYVTTrxUNzTKDzpfhKZq3NYyk>

She also mentioned the times expressed in other time zones:

21:00 - 03:00 PST (UTC -8)
00:00 - 06:00 EST (UTC -5)
06:00 - 12:00 CET (UTC +1)
10:30 - 16:00 IST (UTC +5:30)
12:00 - 18:00 ICT  (UTC +7)
13:00 - 19:00 CST (UTC +8)
16:00 - 22:00 AEDT (UTC +11)

I saw surprisingly little discussion at the time.
But yes, the EST dwellers got the short stick this time.
For everybody else, the pain is, er, limited.

Grüße, Carsten