Re: Chassis MIB comments

kzm@hls.com (Keith McCloghrie) Sun, 23 August 1992 19:00 UTC

Return-Path: <owner-chassismib>
Received: by CS.UTK.EDU (5.61++/2.8s-UTK) id AA06984; Sun, 23 Aug 92 15:00:26 -0400
Received: from LANSLIDE.HLS.COM by CS.UTK.EDU with SMTP (5.61++/2.8s-UTK) id AA06969; Sun, 23 Aug 92 15:00:20 -0400
Received: from nms.netman (nms.hls.com) by lanslide.hls.com (4.1/SMI-4.0) id AA23576; Sun, 23 Aug 92 12:00:35 PDT
Received: by nms.netman (4.1/SMI-4.1) id AA21896; Sun, 23 Aug 92 12:00:15 PDT
From: kzm@hls.com (Keith McCloghrie)
Message-Id: <9208231900.AA21896@nms.netman>
Subject: Re: Chassis MIB comments
To: dan@lannet.com (Dan Romascanu)
Date: Sun, 23 Aug 92 12:00:14 PDT
Cc: chassismib@cs.utk.edu, kzm@hls.com, arneson@yeti.ctron.com
In-Reply-To: <9208231127.AA00323@moon.lannet.com>; from "Dan Romascanu" at Aug 23, 92 2:27 pm
Organization: Hughes LAN Systems
X-Mailer: ELM [version 2.2 PL0]


> Concentrator: A (device implementing a) node that has additional ports
> beyond those required for its own attachement to the network. (Ref.: Kessler,
> Train - MAN - Concepts, Standards and Services).

This seems to me a very loose definition.  To the extent that it applies
to concentrators, it seems to apply equally well to repeaters, bridges, 
or even routers - without redundant paths, disabling any port loses
connectivity from "its own attachment" to somewhere on the network.

> Repeater: Device that extends the geographical coverage of a network by
> interconnecting two similar LANs, such as Ethernet or Token Ring. Operating
> at the physical layer of the OSI layer, it repeats (amplifies, reshapes,
> retimes) packets received from one LAN before sending them to the other.
> (Ref.: Terplan - Communications Network Management). 

The use of "physical layer" excludes bridges and routers, but why are
concentrators excluded ?  Shouldn't it say bit-wise, rather than "packets",
and "one LAN-segment" rather than "one LAN" ?

Keith.