Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com> Sun, 16 June 2019 17:47 UTC

Return-Path: <sean@sn3rd.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 99E1D1201DC for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 10:47:48 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.999
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.999 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_NONE=-0.0001, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (1024-bit key) header.d=sn3rd.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id 5fCC8d0V43Yk for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 10:47:45 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qt1-x836.google.com (mail-qt1-x836.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:4864:20::836]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 9C8D112016B for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 10:47:45 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by mail-qt1-x836.google.com with SMTP id a15so8236267qtn.7 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 10:47:45 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=sn3rd.com; s=google; h=mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=k1CJuro2Nf7Vq1qeEPYVj9YWEBgb+Kf7GnE1XgXlpNU=; b=lr20DQ3quEWYo1xvaJRArA2qWdwy+n/Rf94y19WbyNRGUoZI8elomn4z5s1d0O6LY1 Q8BK6DgIKd9bmXPlPuhRj7OiZw5MI7WtLI9nbUB76nc8cnKxtLKpfgSO2Xi2TcNhDau2 F/Lr5UyJ8R/CCJBcn9k7lb6q8XECbgyKLoJ28=
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20161025; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=k1CJuro2Nf7Vq1qeEPYVj9YWEBgb+Kf7GnE1XgXlpNU=; b=pMygp8b6++BtGXzr3HuQf8xO2oerU1weX8Eu/49LsVU1CJtVLTmNYOlPrx5pqPtjl9 LTw47Y1hKWeMcyFMHsQfbq5bfNS+DXcEdBwPpX5ce7Iw/hUblTqkHmakcj4tz6unJ8Yu cSA/W+IUZ925Sblnu5yalRPG+QEJKVRK22zZzTeYJTyhyHso27zWCIEkR4SGQhDBxeEg C6Qk5MKL1agrgZWQ1BpvkKER2MbCOCpxmAXKxgE6zXkkYhqvyO+/FygRCBNbmZjrUFYF Vmy4SIHOxLLDeCR8sbZ7Rao0AqSCK1g9lHIa7Rf7G5qIM7uf+R/ihnOhhW02FYBLPB7S +9jg==
X-Gm-Message-State: APjAAAVLCUKCl6KnwmqMZTLRyR5jXlO7+7nS0QWctm6yWjSJtctSq8+m 7KxujHvHjb6ZoYfeVC4AVYlfLg==
X-Google-Smtp-Source: APXvYqwtK7qmq9Pd7hoxiDyxMymgS7stCbAm3BPmbjaDsT6YDaq/9P1k8utGdlbtfSic/g9MSvQJMw==
X-Received: by 2002:a0c:b07b:: with SMTP id l56mr17725733qvc.114.1560707264640; Sun, 16 Jun 2019 10:47:44 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from sn3rd.lan ([75.102.131.36]) by smtp.gmail.com with ESMTPSA id f6sm4807136qkk.79.2019.06.16.10.47.43 (version=TLS1_2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 bits=128/128); Sun, 16 Jun 2019 10:47:43 -0700 (PDT)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.11\))
From: Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com>
In-Reply-To: <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Sun, 16 Jun 2019 13:47:42 -0400
Cc: Joe Salowey <joe@salowey.net>, "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>, Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>, tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <0D22003A-76E4-42E4-8741-BC8CE70FF67F@sn3rd.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16281-1557323478-1569.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoDm7wPLVKd+tOM6RMFu2PhZ4Wz5trS7jyyrusns+=mE9A@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-16318-1557325555-1836.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-4435-1557352440-656.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCZzOxJdVGZjp83YCLOktorrxc3bSNp57gqLdt1M4bWgQ@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-12723-1558589242-970.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-27904-1558624173-1826.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com> <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com> <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>, Rich Salz <rsalz@akamai.com>, Yoav Nir <ynir.ietf@gmail.com>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.11)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/Ch-LXDJOTsamlGR0RcqXVa-ERbU>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Sun, 16 Jun 2019 17:47:49 -0000

So … it turns out there are two registry requests for this draft:

1) TLS ExtensionType Values: connection_id

I think we got a number assigned here, but we need a couple of tweaks in the IANA section (I will submit a PR):

a) Needs to request new column for DTLS-only
b) Needs to specify TLS1.3 Column value.  I beieive the value should be empty as this is only applicable to DTLS 1.2.  To amke this clear we should ask for a note.

2) TLS ContentType Registry: tls12_cid

We still a number assignment for this one.

spt

> On May 23, 2019, at 13:59, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com> wrote:
> 
> This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way to indicate that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I don't think that's an issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else has an objection.
> 
> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
>  
> 
> I don’t recall seeing this until now.  Explicitly copying Yoav and Nick.
> 
>  
> 
> I’m one of three and I support this.   Does this work?
> 
>                 Value 53
> 
>                 TLS 1.3 –
> 
>                 Recommended Y
> 
>                 RFC TBD
> 
>  
> 
> From: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
> Date: Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
> To: "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
> Cc: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-chairs@ietf.org>
> Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
> 
>  
> 
> I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives so I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere.   The version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05.  The authors have requested early code point assignment and that requires expert approval.  
> 
>  
> 
> Thanks,
> 
>  
> 
> Joe
> 
>  
> 
>  
> 
> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:
> 
> Hi Joe, 
> 
> We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org on 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't heard back from the experts regarding this request, could you let us know if you still don't see it in the archives? 
> 
> Thank you,
> Sabrina
> 
> On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> > Hi Sabrina,
> > 
> > Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA initiate
> > this?
> > I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the archives
> > for the
> > tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
> > 
> > Thanks,
> > 
> > Joe
> > 
> > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
> > issues@iana.org>
> > wrote:
> > 
> > > Hi Joe,
> > >
> > > We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but we
> > > need to
> > > ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
> > >
> > > Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType Values is
> > > Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts to
> > > review and
> > > approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can make an
> > > early
> > > allocation.
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > >
> > > Sabrina Tanamal
> > > Senior IANA Services Specialist
> > >
> > > On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> > > > Hi Michelle,
> > > >
> > > > Yes, this is a request for both.
> > > >
> > > > Thanks,
> > > >
> > > > Joe
> > > >
> > > > On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
> > > iana-issues@iana.org>
> > > > wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > Hello Joe,
> > > > >
> > > > > Apologies for the delay in my response.  I hope you are doing
> > > > > well.
> > > > >
> > > > > Quick question for your request below.  In the document there are
> > > > > 2
> > > > > requests for parameter registrations.  Are you requesting early
> > > allocation
> > > > > for both?
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks in advance.
> > > > >
> > > > > --Michelle
> > > > >
> > > > > On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
> > > > > > Hi IANA,
> > > > > >
> > > > > > We have received a request for  early code point assignment for
> > > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04.  The chairs believe that
> > > > > > the
> > > draft
> > > > > is
> > > > > > stable.  Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
> > > > > > Please
> > > let me
> > > > > > know if you need more information or have any questions.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Thanks,
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Joe
> > > > > >
> > > > > > ---------- Forwarded message ---------
> > > > > > From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
> > > > > > Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
> > > > > > Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
> > > > > > draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
> > > > > > To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
> > > > > > Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > > On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey wrote:
> > > > > > > Hi Ben,
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > We have a request for early code point assignment
> > > > > > > for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.  We believe the draft
> > > > > > > is
> > > stable
> > > > > and
> > > > > > > no one has objected to the early code point announcement on
> > > > > > > the
> > > list.
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > Let me know if you have any questions or need more
> > > > > > > information.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > I'm happy to see this go forward.
> > > > > > (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me, right?)
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Ben
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > >
> > >
>