Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com> Tue, 02 July 2019 22:07 UTC

Return-Path: <sean@sn3rd.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 968581200F6 for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Tue, 2 Jul 2019 15:07:33 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.999
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.999 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_NONE=-0.0001, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=unavailable autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (1024-bit key) header.d=sn3rd.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id o46mnq1qHEHI for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Tue, 2 Jul 2019 15:07:29 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qk1-x72b.google.com (mail-qk1-x72b.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:4864:20::72b]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id 29371120187 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Tue, 2 Jul 2019 15:07:28 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by mail-qk1-x72b.google.com with SMTP id a27so24456qkk.5 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Tue, 02 Jul 2019 15:07:28 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=sn3rd.com; s=google; h=mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=0GQEE6EiaewRwiOnmAwh9Npl4QdHbVbNqHwTvM3yyYY=; b=dFqUvoapM/CiMOFobJc7o6BGOjMjUECixfkDWS6/RebRKjHzakM/9NJxu8CkxHCGPf 84ZUaNN+agbj6FvQw2BpouEE5K6RxIxNYYHL81jysq0KM2PiEw8DPaQPd8YMAJTVn32l V6TnSRPpbVk7H4sINSg1Kb/OoMoIywaRiBa5k=
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20161025; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=0GQEE6EiaewRwiOnmAwh9Npl4QdHbVbNqHwTvM3yyYY=; b=T6B+OO1r0ikQKBNi7XlecmZdgDp4berAw21nVJhr1bn1W4epmd8VOxXsJYxrwn2JeN bqEpTfpnxLYpS+Q/AIE4tx7K3J2kMSPIZ5JFvTsu7GaaaMt8oCXrp9l79dbXQlaRG5ti 5OE2ex5dbrSij3VSehGdeF2qT0fzWGNDEnAwh4+rAn9LHARwSf5Bq6w0JVSClBOBs+3v 33lefcbdqj5l9W4aC7AkH4/0XaDrm23v73cTltilOMxvmHZaE+YZv+zdbSzWWkMt0WxX HNsGUigWfYKUxU1oBWKXiak+0+mms4ld8YfD0PVL1PJ5B0tV2k1Bj7y2GdEH4y6O7Atv rRiA==
X-Gm-Message-State: APjAAAVJO6MvKZYcHS/+uotKHe3KrcUTRt1WYrQAQ1Z2pNmhC0eUarBs l4/6p/sK5HSBj9bhiByGGxd0Uw==
X-Google-Smtp-Source: APXvYqwn22ba3ShHGrhXLn8x9n1niDE7Db4oDcYKFHS3PajtRZsrwKDj/YLsKITmWknPn+BTsv6BvA==
X-Received: by 2002:a37:488c:: with SMTP id v134mr27881559qka.276.1562105246978; Tue, 02 Jul 2019 15:07:26 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from sn3rd.lan ([75.102.131.36]) by smtp.gmail.com with ESMTPSA id f5sm102985qth.35.2019.07.02.15.07.26 (version=TLS1_2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 bits=128/128); Tue, 02 Jul 2019 15:07:26 -0700 (PDT)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.11\))
From: Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com>
In-Reply-To: <rt-4.4.3-15819-1561738672-1363.1141082-37-0@icann.org>
Date: Tue, 2 Jul 2019 18:07:25 -0400
Cc: Joe Salowey <joe@salowey.net>, ynir.ietf@gmail.com, tls-reg-review@ietf.org, tls-chairs@ietf.org, Rich Salz <rsalz@akamai.com>, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>, Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>, caw@heapingbits.net
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <D44A5776-A3B4-4DCE-8CCB-10F30C002C90@sn3rd.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <rt-4.4.3-1191-1561416859-1035.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <A5072BEF-B82D-42A0-9703-422A98099BC4@sn3rd.com> <C20B3CDF-07AC-4C5A-B4D7-0A5AB1BF3973@sn3rd.com> <17311306-B324-41F2-8499-247B953CCEF2@gmail.com> <23900322-A1E7-48C7-AB6F-8794F7EA62F0@sn3rd.com> <rt-4.4.3-2155-1561692288-1096.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-15819-1561738672-1363.1141082-37-0@icann.org>
To: Amanda Baber via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.11)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/Ox_IKK3NRLRYjx4BiMBvOksaodM>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Tue, 02 Jul 2019 22:07:33 -0000

These look correct to me.  Post away!

spt

> On Jun 28, 2019, at 12:17, Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:
> 
> Hi Sean, 
> 
> Before we proceed with the assignments, can you confirm that these fields are filled out correctly? 
> 
> Registry: TLS ExtensionType Values
> Value: 53
> Extension Name: connection_id
> TLS 1.3: - 
> Recommended: Y
> 
> Registry: TLS ContentType Registry
> Value: 25
> Description: tls12_cid
> DTLS-OK: Y
> 
> Thanks,
> Sabrina
> 
> On Fri Jun 28 03:24:48 2019, sean@sn3rd.com wrote:
>> Amanda,
>> 
>> I think we’re good to go?
>> 
>> spt
>> 
>>> On Jun 26, 2019, at 16:19, Yoav Nir <ynir.ietf@gmail.com> wrote:
>>> 
>>> Sorry. Sure.
>>> 
>>> These seem fine.
>>> 
>>> Yoav
>>> 
>>>> On 26 Jun 2019, at 19:56, Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com> wrote:
>>>> 
>>>> Yoav or Nick,
>>>> 
>>>> If we need two approvals, can one of your confirm these assignments:
>>>> 
>>>> Registry: TLS ExtensionType Values
>>>> Value: 53
>>>> Extension Name: connection_id
>>>> 
>>>> Registry: TLS ContentType Registry
>>>> Value: 25
>>>> Extension Name: tls12_cid
>>>> 
>>>> Thanks!
>>>> 
>>>> spt
>>>> 
>>>>> On Jun 24, 2019, at 21:49, Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com> wrote:
>>>>> 
>>>>> An excellent question :). When we are done there will be two code
>>>>> points assigned for this draft.
>>>>> 
>>>>> spt
>>>>> 
>>>>>> On Jun 24, 2019, at 18:54, Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>>>>> matrix@iana.org> wrote:
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Hi all,
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Does IANA need to make one or more assignments right now? We
>>>>>> understand that we need approvals from at least two designated
>>>>>> experts in order to proceed.
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>> Sabrina
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> On Sun Jun 16 20:46:16 2019, rsalz@akamai.com wrote:
>>>>>>> So looking at the registry, it seems that
>>>>>>> 25  tls1.2 connection id y
>>>>>>> Makes sense.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> On 6/16/19, 1:47 PM, "Sean Turner" <sean@sn3rd.com> wrote:
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> So … it turns out there are two registry requests for this draft:
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 1) TLS ExtensionType Values: connection_id
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> I think we got a number assigned here, but we need a couple of
>>>>>>> tweaks
>>>>>>> in the IANA section (I will submit a PR):
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> a) Needs to request new column for DTLS-only
>>>>>>> b) Needs to specify TLS1.3 Column value.  I beieive the value
>>>>>>> should
>>>>>>> be empty as this is only applicable to DTLS 1.2.  To amke this
>>>>>>> clear
>>>>>>> we should ask for a note.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 2) TLS ContentType Registry: tls12_cid
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> We still a number assignment for this one.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> spt
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> On May 23, 2019, at 13:59, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>
>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way
>>>>>>>> to
>>>>>>>> indicate that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I
>>>>>>>> don't
>>>>>>>> think that's an issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else
>>>>>>>> has
>>>>>>>> an objection.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com>
>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> I don’t recall seeing this until now.  Explicitly copying Yoav
>>>>>>>> and
>>>>>>>> Nick.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> I’m one of three and I support this.   Does this work?
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Value 53
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> TLS 1.3 –
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Recommended Y
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> RFC TBD
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> From: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
>>>>>>>> Date: Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
>>>>>>>> To: "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-
>>>>>>>> review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
>>>>>>>> Cc: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-
>>>>>>>> chairs@ietf.org>
>>>>>>>> Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-
>>>>>>>> point
>>>>>>>> assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review
>>>>>>>> archives so
>>>>>>>> I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere.
>>>>>>>> The
>>>>>>>> version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here
>>>>>>>> https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-
>>>>>>>> 05.
>>>>>>>> The authors have requested early code point assignment and that
>>>>>>>> requires expert approval.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>>>>>>> matrix@iana.org> wrote:
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Hi Joe,
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-
>>>>>>>> review@ietf.org on
>>>>>>>> 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't heard
>>>>>>>> back
>>>>>>>> from the experts regarding this request, could you let us know
>>>>>>>> if you
>>>>>>>> still don't see it in the archives?
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Thank you,
>>>>>>>> Sabrina
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>>>>> Hi Sabrina,
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA
>>>>>>>>> initiate
>>>>>>>>> this?
>>>>>>>>> I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the
>>>>>>>>> archives
>>>>>>>>> for the
>>>>>>>>> tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>>>>>>>> issues@iana.org>
>>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Hi Joe,
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but
>>>>>>>>>> we
>>>>>>>>>> need to
>>>>>>>>>> ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType
>>>>>>>>>> Values
>>>>>>>>>> is
>>>>>>>>>> Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts
>>>>>>>>>> to
>>>>>>>>>> review and
>>>>>>>>>> approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can
>>>>>>>>>> make
>>>>>>>>>> an
>>>>>>>>>> early
>>>>>>>>>> allocation.
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> Sabrina Tanamal
>>>>>>>>>> Senior IANA Services Specialist
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>>>>>>> Hi Michelle,
>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>> Yes, this is a request for both.
>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
>>>>>>>>>> iana-issues@iana.org>
>>>>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>> Hello Joe,
>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>> Apologies for the delay in my response.  I hope you are
>>>>>>>>>>>> doing
>>>>>>>>>>>> well.
>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>> Quick question for your request below.  In the document
>>>>>>>>>>>> there
>>>>>>>>>>>> are
>>>>>>>>>>>> 2
>>>>>>>>>>>> requests for parameter registrations.  Are you requesting
>>>>>>>>>>>> early
>>>>>>>>>> allocation
>>>>>>>>>>>> for both?
>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>> Thanks in advance.
>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>> --Michelle
>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>> On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Hi IANA,
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> We have received a request for  early code point assignment
>>>>>>>>>>>>> for
>>>>>>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04.  The chairs believe
>>>>>>>>>>>>> that
>>>>>>>>>>>>> the
>>>>>>>>>> draft
>>>>>>>>>>>> is
>>>>>>>>>>>>> stable.  Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Please
>>>>>>>>>> let me
>>>>>>>>>>>>> know if you need more information or have any questions.
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> ---------- Forwarded message ---------
>>>>>>>>>>>>> From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
>>>>>>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
>>>>>>>>>>>>> To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-
>>>>>>>>>>>>> review@ietf.org>
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey
>>>>>>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Hi Ben,
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> We have a request for early code point assignment
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.  We believe the
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> draft
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> is
>>>>>>>>>> stable
>>>>>>>>>>>> and
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> no one has objected to the early code point announcement
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> on
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> the
>>>>>>>>>> list.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Let me know if you have any questions or need more
>>>>>>>>>>>>>> information.
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> I'm happy to see this go forward.
>>>>>>>>>>>>> (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me, right?)
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>> Ben
>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>> 
>>>>> 
>>>> 
>>> 
>