Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id

Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com> Tue, 25 June 2019 01:49 UTC

Return-Path: <sean@sn3rd.com>
X-Original-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 495AB120224 for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Mon, 24 Jun 2019 18:49:40 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -1.999
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.999 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, RCVD_IN_DNSWL_NONE=-0.0001, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (1024-bit key) header.d=sn3rd.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id HocjCBhgmH2a for <tls-reg-review@ietfa.amsl.com>; Mon, 24 Jun 2019 18:49:37 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-qt1-x836.google.com (mail-qt1-x836.google.com [IPv6:2607:f8b0:4864:20::836]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id DB8EA12010F for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Mon, 24 Jun 2019 18:49:36 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by mail-qt1-x836.google.com with SMTP id w17so16679209qto.10 for <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>; Mon, 24 Jun 2019 18:49:36 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=sn3rd.com; s=google; h=mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=iG6ac7Rt1prdAyl+5XToFPADoD6c9/NU6uDQT68X/B8=; b=Y/HVjZR8I+CSGHkl/ZtE2gaRCklPh5jmiE6+hawUJJ86h2fyj+6HBgt0lpfdTS6HSP myEW666oAevy1IH+GTJHwycwHTQ4gIdKp6lpf9iR0VcWX+6LZadssu/Z9YWWlYFMALvP P6bLsDYq0sChpbFtkeJ6yGpSRVPMEDdovRONU=
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20161025; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=iG6ac7Rt1prdAyl+5XToFPADoD6c9/NU6uDQT68X/B8=; b=K6MwTFWG/JVpr3fInEtxp9Rm84+RbdqN9pG5rCH9tGxS42N0uEKujQxzxy5WyZZP2M K1ljUis/SgGiVUZcViaMrRvi2peNsCgj3hTexaA3x/8zK+4sIhRJiV6xyPlVvmVJKRKK RMuCFnAl5CpDuwiCuA+6Zuqha8nWoh5mkXG0fZzf288ZVRA5PD+pRzbLah9E+Cif8JQr eJWAfcbRtlHGuFci5RD6e9sRwOXefz6OAXQqUwEX/sJbOmn+vsetkY6ZQ9/pEZKJ4Ud+ pNn7Xzr0kZ5pLTcUpDEC8u71E5RlnB8Rbjei0bMNf2J6pjK8uAPTocGKkoHyXjyEel5n DL6Q==
X-Gm-Message-State: APjAAAXIBg4yNEyWoSQsCErEzu+WmtWdB96HFi6sanFcMoIPc7tbiAJS VIncUXRU/rjfQ1WFh/zk8mimgw==
X-Google-Smtp-Source: APXvYqxOWUNiR4fjC5BabegDhjd0ZjN5Fq6ubxTPDrgvkmdtP9FvA0n1cjX9GOoq4aA2Qr0Z+XKVvw==
X-Received: by 2002:ac8:1bdc:: with SMTP id m28mr48381637qtk.252.1561427375954; Mon, 24 Jun 2019 18:49:35 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from ?IPv6:2601:151:4501:12ca:d3a:133d:51ed:4d85? ([2601:151:4501:12ca:d3a:133d:51ed:4d85]) by smtp.gmail.com with ESMTPSA id s44sm9066561qtc.8.2019.06.24.18.49.34 (version=TLS1_2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 bits=128/128); Mon, 24 Jun 2019 18:49:35 -0700 (PDT)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 12.4 \(3445.104.11\))
From: Sean Turner <sean@sn3rd.com>
In-Reply-To: <rt-4.4.3-1191-1561416859-1035.1141082-37-0@icann.org>
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2019 21:49:34 -0400
Cc: Joe Salowey <joe@salowey.net>, ynir.ietf@gmail.com, tls-reg-review@ietf.org, tls-chairs@ietf.org, Rich Salz <rsalz@akamai.com>, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com>, Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <A5072BEF-B82D-42A0-9703-422A98099BC4@sn3rd.com>
References: <RT-Ticket-1141082@icann.org> <CAOgPGoCN+VbtggC0vx_OqsKJcWqUWhnP+b5pJDJLuRci51XL3A@mail.gmail.com> <20190420021254.GN51586@kduck.mit.edu> <CAOgPGoDFEmmLCRQeXY_YoP1ErncQCD6N53u=N-kqmE_e+ZXysw@mail.gmail.com> <CAOgPGoANNUymaZmFx_bhUVSDK7poaWUaJXeEHdGEKj1Cg2+pPA@mail.gmail.com> <ABED8420-5525-4B00-ACE6-CBF8B427CF70@akamai.com> <CAFDDyk9mxpWSbt1pimj2dQGvEQnuKHaVeMe1ucUYOP0hT-7QmA@mail.gmail.com> <0D22003A-76E4-42E4-8741-BC8CE70FF67F@sn3rd.com> <C9CA0D8A-78D3-4939-B126-A2E5DF805A90@akamai.com> <rt-4.4.3-6217-1560717976-563.1141082-37-0@icann.org> <rt-4.4.3-1191-1561416859-1035.1141082-37-0@icann.org>
To: Amanda Baber via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3445.104.11)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/tls-reg-review/x3hlWWF-kpg0cwAFOlVgkFEalTI>
Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Early code-point assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
X-BeenThere: tls-reg-review@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: TLS REVIEW <tls-reg-review.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/tls-reg-review/>
List-Post: <mailto:tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/tls-reg-review>, <mailto:tls-reg-review-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Tue, 25 Jun 2019 01:49:40 -0000

An excellent question :). When we are done there will be two code points assigned for this draft.

spt

> On Jun 24, 2019, at 18:54, Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-matrix@iana.org> wrote:
> 
> Hi all, 
> 
> Does IANA need to make one or more assignments right now? We understand that we need approvals from at least two designated experts in order to proceed. 
> 
> Thanks,
> Sabrina
> 
> On Sun Jun 16 20:46:16 2019, rsalz@akamai.com wrote:
>> So looking at the registry, it seems that
>>  25  tls1.2 connection id y
>> Makes sense.
>> 
>> 
>> 
>> On 6/16/19, 1:47 PM, "Sean Turner" <sean@sn3rd.com> wrote:
>> 
>> So … it turns out there are two registry requests for this draft:
>> 
>> 1) TLS ExtensionType Values: connection_id
>> 
>> I think we got a number assigned here, but we need a couple of tweaks
>> in the IANA section (I will submit a PR):
>> 
>> a) Needs to request new column for DTLS-only
>> b) Needs to specify TLS1.3 Column value.  I beieive the value should
>> be empty as this is only applicable to DTLS 1.2.  To amke this clear
>> we should ask for a note.
>> 
>> 2) TLS ContentType Registry: tls12_cid
>> 
>> We still a number assignment for this one.
>> 
>> spt
>> 
>>> On May 23, 2019, at 13:59, Nick Sullivan <nick@cloudflare.com> wrote:
>>> 
>>> This sounds good to me. However, there doesn't seem to be a way to
>>> indicate that this extension is for DTLS only and not TLS. I don't
>>> think that's an issue, but I'm interested to hear if anyone else has
>>> an objection.
>>> 
>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 9:35 AM Salz, Rich <rsalz@akamai.com> wrote:
>>> 
>>> 
>>> I don’t recall seeing this until now.  Explicitly copying Yoav and
>>> Nick.
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> I’m one of three and I support this.   Does this work?
>>> 
>>> Value 53
>>> 
>>> TLS 1.3 –
>>> 
>>> Recommended Y
>>> 
>>> RFC TBD
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> From: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
>>> Date: Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 12:23 PM
>>> To: "iana-matrix@iana.org" <iana-matrix@iana.org>rg>, "tls-reg-
>>> review@ietf.org" <tls-reg-review@ietf.org>
>>> Cc: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>du>, "tls-chairs@ietf.org" <tls-
>>> chairs@ietf.org>
>>> Subject: Re: [Tls-reg-review] [IANA #1141082] Fwd: Early code-point
>>> assignment request for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> I haven't seen the messages appear in the tls-reg-review archives so
>>> I'm cc'ing them on this email to see if its stuck somewhere.   The
>>> version of draft that I am preparing to send to the IESG is here
>>> https://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-05.
>>> The authors have requested early code point assignment and that
>>> requires expert approval.
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> Thanks,
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> Joe
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 8:09 AM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>> matrix@iana.org> wrote:
>>> 
>>> Hi Joe,
>>> 
>>> We've sent this request to the experts at tls-reg-review@ietf.org on
>>> 8 May 2019, and we pinged them again yesterday. We haven't heard back
>>> from the experts regarding this request, could you let us know if you
>>> still don't see it in the archives?
>>> 
>>> Thank you,
>>> Sabrina
>>> 
>>> On Thu May 23 05:27:22 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>> Hi Sabrina,
>>>> 
>>>> Am I supposed to ask the experts for a review or will IANA initiate
>>>> this?
>>>> I don't think I've seen a request for review appear in the archives
>>>> for the
>>>> tls-reg-reviewt@ietf.org yet.
>>>> 
>>>> Thanks,
>>>> 
>>>> Joe
>>>> 
>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 2:54 PM Sabrina Tanamal via RT <iana-
>>>> issues@iana.org>
>>>> wrote:
>>>> 
>>>>> Hi Joe,
>>>>> 
>>>>> We can make the ContentType registration in Section 8 now, but we
>>>>> need to
>>>>> ask you how to fill in the "DTLS-OK" column.
>>>>> 
>>>>> Because the registration procedure for the ExtensionType Values
>>>>> is
>>>>> Specification Required, we need to ask the designated experts to
>>>>> review and
>>>>> approve the ExtensionType Value registration before we can make
>>>>> an
>>>>> early
>>>>> allocation.
>>>>> 
>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>> 
>>>>> Sabrina Tanamal
>>>>> Senior IANA Services Specialist
>>>>> 
>>>>> On Wed May 08 14:25:55 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>> Hi Michelle,
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Yes, this is a request for both.
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>> 
>>>>>> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 6:51 AM Michelle Cotton via RT <
>>>>> iana-issues@iana.org>
>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Hello Joe,
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Apologies for the delay in my response.  I hope you are doing
>>>>>>> well.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Quick question for your request below.  In the document there
>>>>>>> are
>>>>>>> 2
>>>>>>> requests for parameter registrations.  Are you requesting
>>>>>>> early
>>>>> allocation
>>>>>>> for both?
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> Thanks in advance.
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> --Michelle
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> On Tue Apr 23 04:51:06 2019, joe@salowey.net wrote:
>>>>>>>> Hi IANA,
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> We have received a request for  early code point assignment
>>>>>>>> for
>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id-04.  The chairs believe
>>>>>>>> that
>>>>>>>> the
>>>>> draft
>>>>>>> is
>>>>>>>> stable.  Our AD, Ben also approves this early assignment.
>>>>>>>> Please
>>>>> let me
>>>>>>>> know if you need more information or have any questions.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Joe
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> ---------- Forwarded message ---------
>>>>>>>> From: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
>>>>>>>> Date: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 7:12 PM
>>>>>>>> Subject: Re: Early code-point assignment request for
>>>>>>>> draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id
>>>>>>>> To: Joseph Salowey <joe@salowey.net>
>>>>>>>> Cc: tls-chairs <tls-chairs@ietf.org>rg>, <tls-reg-
>>>>>>>> review@ietf.org>
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> On Sun, Apr 14, 2019 at 10:32:00PM -0700, Joseph Salowey
>>>>>>>> wrote:
>>>>>>>>> Hi Ben,
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> We have a request for early code point assignment
>>>>>>>>> for draft-ietf-tls-dtls-connection-id.  We believe the
>>>>>>>>> draft
>>>>>>>>> is
>>>>> stable
>>>>>>> and
>>>>>>>>> no one has objected to the early code point announcement
>>>>>>>>> on
>>>>>>>>> the
>>>>> list.
>>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>>> Let me know if you have any questions or need more
>>>>>>>>> information.
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> I'm happy to see this go forward.
>>>>>>>> (You will send the actual request to IANA, not me, right?)
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Thanks, and sorry for the slow response,
>>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>>> Ben
>>>>>>> 
>>>>>>> 
>>>>> 
>>>>> 
>>> 
>> 
>> 
>> 
>