Re: Registration details for IETF 108

Tim Chown <tjc.ietf@gmail.com> Thu, 11 June 2020 09:11 UTC

Return-Path: <tjc.ietf@gmail.com>
X-Original-To: ietf@ietfa.amsl.com
Delivered-To: ietf@ietfa.amsl.com
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 0F5323A00AD for <ietf@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 11 Jun 2020 02:11:37 -0700 (PDT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at amsl.com
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -2.098
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.098 tagged_above=-999 required=5 tests=[BAYES_00=-1.9, DKIM_SIGNED=0.1, DKIM_VALID=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_AU=-0.1, DKIM_VALID_EF=-0.1, FREEMAIL_FROM=0.001, SPF_HELO_NONE=0.001, SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_BLOCKED=0.001] autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Authentication-Results: ietfa.amsl.com (amavisd-new); dkim=pass (2048-bit key) header.d=gmail.com
Received: from mail.ietf.org ([4.31.198.44]) by localhost (ietfa.amsl.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id gWc_bstnYWUe for <ietf@ietfa.amsl.com>; Thu, 11 Jun 2020 02:11:36 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from mail-wm1-x329.google.com (mail-wm1-x329.google.com [IPv6:2a00:1450:4864:20::329]) (using TLSv1.2 with cipher ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 (128/128 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by ietfa.amsl.com (Postfix) with ESMTPS id A95BD3A00AE for <ietf@ietf.org>; Thu, 11 Jun 2020 02:11:35 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by mail-wm1-x329.google.com with SMTP id k26so4285268wmi.4 for <ietf@ietf.org>; Thu, 11 Jun 2020 02:11:35 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20161025; h=mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=m9ZEqo8oMFgwwbzdUAfuLEuEXZPlLvNp9kCXx/Wv7cM=; b=aMm2Qn1j9RP1c+Sr/z8uA0PiL5QM+1G6zEzP6Yqln9bsHWRdsQDv6lp8/MWsktLgAf uJcH3QM8WOyCnd5AJ69m0tJzq1xSj9SGZS1ccKGpDbiqIkcrZ5s/1/D7/0rCy/DrWDuk JqNaOIszJD4ugku7Gs58mdZuXYWlmIczykCIwilCAhfLbnyqcyyJQNUDlReJeisnPklE E6Pyf2IUmR9kwVypoW/Ih6IIMbZ3gfW1j0arHRCxJeiV//g+fljhTtx2antlH7jaIS5h 7B+d2nj9t8NzyN91N7M1IYhRgBK+9heS9hq15o0u/Qu7TFaPGwA1z4Bc39i+Jr6Ouths XOhQ==
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=1e100.net; s=20161025; h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:subject:from:in-reply-to:date:cc :content-transfer-encoding:message-id:references:to; bh=m9ZEqo8oMFgwwbzdUAfuLEuEXZPlLvNp9kCXx/Wv7cM=; b=WhVjXg7N2XZ41zNu55QIFdJDTsW5tDxI0eCKyDEiyBpbHuEk8ywPs9uE9ImZhf4zSo /v+JkYS7qiXWYbmCTBiKtY8dQwddQ+aEuVwxAhLcKA1EIr1VWutXiXQWe9EBWOzinFkK HfV/IqeJcM0XdxianZLB7qCkR5HQUDAkBYHxsAyb+rFzE6/01Bf6TRU+M8W9Q48RIc2s 5UFz6/lqE4xWN8O0tdbeSeH1mM+mFKlgmgNvVgY1Se8HO2Jm+lRweNm6zoB2BlRCA661 VdH3JpmmwEr3QYIxEtKqoP7CZ4Sfjdrt1yplpY+KH5XFCkTKJpij6VE1qNzH0V/RFY6Y /P5g==
X-Gm-Message-State: AOAM533LZedxR/5IlcocaIfECEULWMLihGwncIcZgvq16Wbnz+tXz/BT XtBLuTwh+p88PUMLT6yRdBM=
X-Google-Smtp-Source: ABdhPJyWasuC1VediLZNyMD8Db3bvFUSfeMNULTbYMZOfElqfDeZ7qAfPsd6s1qOtelG+/ou5cJgFw==
X-Received: by 2002:a1c:4c05:: with SMTP id z5mr6889841wmf.129.1591866694201; Thu, 11 Jun 2020 02:11:34 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from [192.168.43.202] (tchowndsl.claranet.co.uk. [212.188.254.49]) by smtp.gmail.com with ESMTPSA id y80sm3171399wmc.34.2020.06.11.02.11.33 (version=TLS1_2 cipher=ECDHE-ECDSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 bits=128/128); Thu, 11 Jun 2020 02:11:33 -0700 (PDT)
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Mime-Version: 1.0 (Mac OS X Mail 13.4 \(3608.80.23.2.2\))
Subject: Re: Registration details for IETF 108
From: Tim Chown <tjc.ietf@gmail.com>
In-Reply-To: <m2h7voztz5.wl-randy@psg.com>
Date: Thu, 11 Jun 2020 10:11:32 +0100
Cc: Brian E Carpenter <brian.e.carpenter@gmail.com>, IETF Rinse Repeat <ietf@ietf.org>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Message-Id: <6F3828AD-FFE3-4331-8E76-E212F1357919@gmail.com>
References: <159062833754.6110.5826748635235943562@ietfa.amsl.com> <9F71F116-D7B2-4ECE-9000-957A0C497404@ietf.org> <01d701d638ca$c096b5e0$41c421a0$@gmail.com> <CABcZeBOLAw_9s-gobFYB=5THu_Q70UmDLn_ZhVXhNRHN_nu_0w@mail.gmail.com> <607b7682-0a75-62b6-fd0e-5e2e1171a68b@cs.tcd.ie> <CA+9kkMBEqhn115ToB0SwOGavmXze4DdJdL941J4LeVMRrPngpQ@mail.gmail.com> <e1b804ae-4c2e-fdf3-8804-47820d35facf@cs.tcd.ie> <CA+9kkMC8ZWHaCBg=WzwtriVf-3bq=egupVgAH-J7dSqspwLoFw@mail.gmail.com> <a19c3066-bfa7-ded2-d98f-b5e367645451@cs.tcd.ie> <E8BE49F8-6FE8-4470-9314-21F8BFE9768A@gmail.com> <1UWAyqDxFn.1IOJoXgqe8i@pc8xp> <m2tuzpz0eg.wl-randy@psg.com> <94fdbedd-358b-7fae-c784-9550311d8aea@gmail.com> <m2h7voztz5.wl-randy@psg.com>
To: Randy Bush <randy@psg.com>
X-Mailer: Apple Mail (2.3608.80.23.2.2)
Archived-At: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/msg/ietf/OsYlO3QZwjp25RvHZJg-cNlFR6s>
X-BeenThere: ietf@ietf.org
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.29
Precedence: list
List-Id: IETF-Discussion <ietf.ietf.org>
List-Unsubscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/options/ietf>, <mailto:ietf-request@ietf.org?subject=unsubscribe>
List-Archive: <https://mailarchive.ietf.org/arch/browse/ietf/>
List-Post: <mailto:ietf@ietf.org>
List-Help: <mailto:ietf-request@ietf.org?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <https://www.ietf.org/mailman/listinfo/ietf>, <mailto:ietf-request@ietf.org?subject=subscribe>
X-List-Received-Date: Thu, 11 Jun 2020 09:11:37 -0000

> On 6 Jun 2020, at 05:41, Randy Bush <randy@psg.com> wrote:
> 
>> Doesn't fix time zones though
> 
> let me see if i can push you just a little bit out of the box.  a
> small step.
> 
> there are two time slots in the day which work for what i call three
> continent calls, apac, emea/africa, noam/alyc.  each day a different
> wg meets in one of those two slots of *their* choice.  thus the ietf
> 'meeting' is smeared over three months.
> 
> rough example.  not adjusted for 'summer' time and other details
> 
>    UTC 22:00
>    CET 23:00
>    JST 07:00+1
>    PST 14:00
>    EST 17:00
> 
>    UTC 14:00
>    CET 15:00
>    JST 23:00
>    PST 06:00
>    EST 09:00
> 
>> which is why primacy of email remains essential IMNSHO.
> 
> email is good

Indeed!

Keep pushing.

And this would win us a schedule free of WG meeting clashes, and avoidance of several hundred drafts being published in 24 hours with very little hope of reading the ones that interest you before the WG meeting.

Many WGs are already embracing more frequent online interims, so “smearing” the work is already happening.  The question is whether some structure like the above is preferred, or ad-hoc meetings as and when each WG wants them.

Tim